State Law: Legal Amounts of Homemade Wine
Nevada laws regarding homemade wine are pursuant to the federal law (with the addition of the application for a license) which states the following:
The aggregate amount of wine exempt from tax under this subsection with respect to any household shall not exceed – (1) 200 gallons per calendar year if there are 2 or more adults in such household, or (2) 100 gallons per calendar year if there is only 1 adult in such household.
State Alcoholic Beverages Control Agency
Nevada Department of Taxation
1550 College Parkway Suite 115
Carson City, NV 89706
Phone: 866-962-3707; (775) 684-2000
Fax: (775) 684-2020
Statute Title & Description
“Alcoholic beverage” defined. For the purposes of NRS 202.015 to 202.065, inclusive, “alcoholic beverage” means:
Beer, ale, porter, stout and other similar fermented beverages, including sake and similar products, of any name or description containing one-half of 1 percent or more alcohol by volume, brewed or produced from malt, wholly or in part, or from any substitute therefor.
Any beverage obtained by the fermentation of the natural content of fruits or other agricultural products containing sugar, of not less than one-half of 1 percent of alcohol by volume.
Any distilled spirits commonly referred to as ethyl alcohol, ethanol or spirits of wine in any form, including all dilutions and mixtures thereof from whatever process produced.
“Wine” defined. As used in this chapter, “wine” means any alcoholic beverage obtained by the fermentation of the natural content of fruits or other agricultural products containing sugar.
Except as otherwise provided in subsection 2, a person shall not directly or indirectly, himself or herself or by his or her clerk, agent or employee, offer, keep or possess for sale, furnish or sell, or solicit the purchase or sale of any liquor in this State, or transport or import or cause to be transported or imported any liquor in or into this State for delivery, storage, use or sale therein, unless the person:
Has complied fully with the provisions of this chapter; and
Holds an appropriate, valid license, permit or certificate issued by the Department.
Except as otherwise provided in subsection 3, the provisions of this chapter do not apply to a person:
Entering this State with a quantity of alcoholic beverage for household or personal use which is exempt from federal import duty;
Who imports 1 gallon or less of alcoholic beverage per month from another state for his or her own household or personal use;
Is a resident of this State;
Is 21 years of age or older; and
Imports 12 cases or less of wine per year for his or her own household or personal use; or
Who is lawfully in possession of wine produced on the premises of an instructional wine-making facility for his or her own household or personal use and who is acting in a manner authorized by NRS 597.245.
The provisions of subsection 2 do not apply to a supplier, wholesaler or retailer while he or she is acting in his or her professional capacity.
A person who accepts liquor shipped into this State pursuant to paragraph (b) or (c) of subsection 2 must be 21 years of age or older.
NOTE: The information presented here is not a substitute for legal advice. For detailed information regarding the laws of your state please contact the state’s governing agency and/or a lawyer licensed to practice in your state.